I want a Forum

powerless 23:00 13 Feb 04

Yours truly is thinking of doing it himself (ish) and well you'll never guess what the forum will be all about.

...Computing of course.

Now I'll be honest and say that I have no clue what to look at and how to go about it.

I know what I eventually want to end up with but I just don't know where to start...

php and all that is beyond me (willing to learn mind you) so this looks a good place to start, click here used that forum many times, very easy to use.

But how would I set it up?

Any thoughts, tips, pointers?

D-Frame 23:20 13 Feb 04

Im still a newbie at PHP and MySQL and i have almost done 45% of my own forum package.... i just use simple code snippets and add my own knowledge to that code.. pretty simple.

I got a thing called e-107 that is a complete site, all PHP etc with forum etc etc included..

look on click here !

Forum Editor 23:36 13 Feb 04

facing would-be forum owners is not how to set one up - that's relatively straightforward - but how to make their shiny new forum a success.

It's a subject in which I have a degree of experience, and I can tell you that the road to success is a long and often painful one. There are hundreds of thousands of forums out there, and the vast majority are simply places where a few people gather to swap meaningless and largely unintelligible babble. Forums often provide a haven for those who can't get an audience to listen to them in real life, and profanity and abuse abound when reasoned debate runs out. Why do I make such a scathing generalisation? Because I've seen so many dreadful forums, that's why. I worked on a Microsoft forum for a while, and I saw at first hand how necessary it is to moderate with absolute conviction - you must set yourself strong editorial standards and stick to them, or anarchy will result.