I want to create an online shop

kevward1 09:52 23 Sep 07

I want to expand my ironmongery business and create an online shop that will take credit card and/or paypal payments. I have no experience with web building software and would very much appreciate any advice as to the easiest and best software to use.

Forum Editor 12:03 23 Sep 07

with VISA you could apply for an online payment status. Otherwise you'll probably find PayPal the best route - they'll take credit card payments on your behalf, and you can integrate PayPal payment pages into your site. There's a special facility for PayPal business account holders whereby you can download special 'buy now' buttons that have code embedded which links to your PayPal account.

If your business volume warrants it you might consider one of the third-party card payment processors, like WorldPay, but be warned - they'll take a commission on each payment, and it's not something to consider unless you have a fairly high transaction volume.

kevward1 13:04 23 Sep 07

Thanks for that Forum Editor. What software would you recommend to create my shop. Please bare in mind I need something simple to use as I don't have programing experience. Thanks.

DieSse 22:22 23 Sep 07

Very, very easy to use - but can create good looking sites - and has commerce facilities built-in, is Web Easy Pro, newly at Version 7.

click here

Good host for free testing is Awardspace click here - you can test without even a domain name. if you wish.

Forum Editor 18:41 24 Sep 07

you can create your shop using the free Paypal tools, but you will need a Paypal business account before you can do that.

Otherwise, NetObjects Fusion, which is a popular and powerful WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) website design application has e-commerce tools built in.