I think I've been hacked

  wildhouse 22:21 06 Feb 12

I have a message on one of my tabs saying that I have been hacked by Destroyer. Can anyone advise what I should do? This is the first time this has happened in over 15 years of computer use.

  Woolwell 22:46 06 Feb 12

I'm not aware of that threat. Are you sure that it isn't one of these spam pages to get you to buy anti-virus/reg cleaner.

You fail to mention which browser (I assume that the tab is on a browser), which OS and what anti-virus/malware you have.

You should immediately run a full anti-virus scan preferably in safe mode. If you haven't already got it then I suggest you run Malwarebytes.

  wildhouse 23:28 06 Feb 12

Thanks for your reply. I use more than one browser at once - the one that the message came up on was Google Chrome. When I closed down I had 2 tabs open - one was Facebook and the other www.christymoore.com; when I logged back in Facebook was as normal but christymoore.com had become destroyer.dk with the whole page telling me I have been hacked by D3$TROY3R. I use Windows 7 and run Avast. I ran Adaware which detected ilividsetupv1.exe Family Name: Win32.PUP.Bandoo[800] Engine: 1 Clean status: Success Item ID: 0 Family ID: 0 MD5: ba6b38dc8be9ab5365b8599d8b826dfa. I also ran Windows Defender which found nothing. I have cleared my browsing history and clicked on delete all cookies when closing.

  lotvic 00:57 07 Feb 12

Don't panic, it's not your pc that's been hacked, it's the webpage you visited has been hacked to redirect you to destoyer.tk/ he thinks he is very clever, but he is just a pain. Ting tong, ting tong. Still the music is quite nice.... and I suppose it will keep the websites Admin busy tightening their security.

Firefox stops the page redirecting, but if I click on 'allow' I see the 'Hacked By D3$TROY3R' page.

  onthelimit1 08:53 07 Feb 12

If you're having redirect problems, try running the TDSS Killer from Kaspersky (free).

  wildhouse 17:50 07 Feb 12

Thanks, all - will try and let that website know of the problem as I would like to access it again!

  lotvic 19:35 07 Feb 12

I think it's fixed now, because I don't get the message from Firefox asking me to 'Allow' and www.christymoore.com displays ok.

  lotvic 19:42 07 Feb 12

or maybe not all of the site is cleaned up yet, when I click on Lyrics for A pair of brown eyes, where the lyrics should have been, It said 'Hacked by alvaro para el lamm.............. lammer :) but rest of page seemed to be ok.

  wildhouse 20:00 07 Feb 12

Thanks - it's not a site I would expect to have a huge following (although he is very popular!) so an odd site for a hacker to choose.


This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

How to watch the Superbowl 2016 online in the UK: Broncos vs Panthers live plus Coldplay halftime…

1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years

You can now publish data visualisations to the web from Power BI

Complete guide to Apple's campus 2, everything we know about the new spaceship HQ, plus: new drone…