I need educating on wireless connectivity

wobblymike 17:39 22 Nov 05

I have a standard PC set up connected to Broadband via a USB modem. I have built a PC for my son to install in his bedroom and want him to be able to access the net via my broadband connection. I am unsure how to facilitate this - what hardware I need etc. can someone please educate me.

johnnyrocker 17:42 22 Nov 05

sorry second one should be click here

johnnyrocker 17:43 22 Nov 05

click here or www,linksys.com

wobblymike 17:47 22 Nov 05

thanks for the link but i'm not sure what i'm looking or as i say i need educating can you talk me through what i need

bda72 18:01 22 Nov 05

I'm no expert but have searched for what I need to do a similar job so here goes.

Linksys equipment, I think you would need the WRT54GS router to share your conection and either the WMP54GS pci card or WUSB54GS usb adapter for your sons PC depending on installing the pci card or usb adapter would be your personal choice. I think you can hard wire into the router from your PC or use a PCI card or USB adapter for your own machine if placing the router by your phone socket hides some cables(i.e. keep the wife happy).
As I say this is from reading up on the subject and not personal experience so I look forward to anyone correcting me and helping both of us.

Diodorus Siculus 18:06 22 Nov 05

Forums - wireless for a beginner - PC Advisor
click here

Try this one

wobblymike 18:12 22 Nov 05

Guys OK - lets see if I have this right

1. I need to install a PCI wireless card in my PC and another in my son's.

2. I need a router to connect my PC too (is this a normal ,ADSL router?)

Is this right so far?

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 18:21 22 Nov 05
  wobblymike 18:32 22 Nov 05

Fruit Bat /\0/
Thats excellent and exactly what I wanted thanks very much

wobblymike 18:54 22 Nov 05