i know im stupid......... but!!!

suesue43 19:28 21 May 07

is software what you download on to your pc!!! im such a thicko i dont know........ does it mean stuff like games. music etc i really dont know.... sorry to sound sooo stupid

recap 19:33 21 May 07

Yes suesue43, software is the programs you load on to your computer, either via a disc or download. Hardware is the physical side of computing the stuff you can touch, like your printer, Monitor, camera etc.

There are no silly questions when asking about computers.

recap

suesue43 19:36 21 May 07

thank you so much recap im a complete novice my 8 year old said that but just wanted to double check... deary me have to get the complete dummies guide to pcs lol... thanks again

wee eddie 19:56 21 May 07

Sounds like a good idea.

Most local Colleges do courses like "Computers for the Terrified" or similar. Well worth it if you can find the time.

Visit us here now and again. Contribute to Speakers Corner and read any bits in the Beginners Section and Consumer Watch that you think might be interesting.

After a couple of months you'll be surprised at the amount of totally useless knowledge that you have picked up.

mocha 19:57 21 May 07

Software is programs that run on your computer that for eg. let you manipulate digital photos, create documents, play games, make spreadsheets etc.

Music is not software nor is films but they can also be downloaded onto your computer and played through your computer using software eg. Windows Media Player. Hope this helps.

g0slp 19:59 21 May 07

Welcome to the Forum.

I agree with what recap & wee eddie say, for what it's worth.

recap 20:04 21 May 07

click here and do a search for a local UK online centre in your area suesue43, these centre were set up to help people like your self. Most centres have a drop in facility where you can learn IT at your own pace.

suesue43 20:09 21 May 07