I have xp...bt have lost all sound! HELP PLZ

teresaj 23:38 22 Mar 08

Hi, I'm new to all this. I was given the computer last year and all was going great until I recently managed to wipe the sound off somehow. I have tried to restore, but the computer jst wouldnt let me do it. Does anyone know what I should do.....please dont be too technical as I'm still learning what to do and will only get myself into even more of a mess lol.
I have broadband...windows xp...dont know if you need to know that, but....
Anyway, your help would be very much appreciated...my son is not happy with me eeek!
Thanks in advance :)

brundle 23:55 22 Mar 08

Troubleshoot device driver problems; click here

Acx 00:11 23 Mar 08

Usually this is just a setting that has been changed.

Software - On the task bar (bottom right hand corner) you should see an icon of a speaker - double click that and see if any of the sliders are at the bottom (move them up to half way if they are) and check that none of the mute boxes have a tick in them (untick them if they have).

Hardware - Make sure all your speakers are connected properly, (plugged in to the mains, the back of the computer, that the volume is turn up on speakers themselves and that any power buttons on the speakers are on).

rdave13 00:37 23 Mar 08

Try system restore to a time before your problems.... click here

rdave13 00:47 23 Mar 08

Before you try sys. restore make sure you're disconnected from the net and disable all security software you have. That means firewall. Anti virus and any 'live' antispyware programs.
Pick a restore point before the problem.
Good luck.
If you have a Norton suit, check that EVERYTHING within is stopped. Or any other security suit.
Shivers at the thought of a security suit...freezeing at hell.:(

birdface 09:19 23 Mar 08