I have an idea

~PC Catastrophe~ 21:27 14 Dec 06

I have an idea for a tool, but I am not a programmer. I am pretty sure after scanning through the internet that no one has put out this idea. I was thinking of approaching a particular company that is offering a tool along the same lines of my idea. Is this a good idea? I am not really worried about the money aspect, because I would like it to be freeware, however I want credit for my idea. Any suggestions?

skidzy 21:33 14 Dec 06

If you dont try,you wont know.

Whats the worse that could happen...its either a yes or no !

Just do not get your hopes up.

mammak 21:44 14 Dec 06

Go for it and good luck.

Ps.if it's any good give us a look first :-)

Technotiger 21:57 14 Dec 06

Hi, Hmmm, if you offer it to a company which is already working on a similar idea, whoa boy!!
Company's are there to make money, I doubt they would take kindly to a similar tool being made as freeware.

Technotiger 22:07 14 Dec 06

Not trying to put a damper on things, but if it does have the potential to become a 'good thing',
and if your ideas are so similar, the company are hardly likely to allow you to have the credit for what they would see as their idea.

If I were you I would try to find an alternative way of developing the idea, separate from any other company, then you could claim the credit for the idea.

Good luck anyway.

€dstowe 22:08 14 Dec 06

Before you go much further, you should protect your idea in some way.

The simplest thing to do would be to clearly define the idea in writing and deposit that written document, sealed and dated, with a solicitor or with your bank.

This will prevent your idea being stolen by anyone you show it to.

You could, of course, go the whole way and apply for a patent but this could be VERY expensive, especially if nobody is interested in the idea. Only 3% of granted patents ever reach the marketplace and only about 30% of patent applications go for grant.

vinnyT 04:51 15 Dec 06