I cannot play a DVD

beansix 04:19 16 Feb 04

I am new to computing and purchased a second hand computer.
Due to problems I had to reformat the hard drive and did not have the driver disc for my DVD player.
When I installed XP Home, it loaded its own drivers.
I have just bought the latest copy of Computer Buyer to watch the DVD of the Vietnam War but the video does not play and Media player 9 suggests that the files are videos but cannot help further.
A friend say that I need an MPEG2 codec but cannot help further.
The DVD player is identified by Windows as an MT1316B BDV212B and the file extensions which I am trying to play are .BUP, .IFO and .VOB.
Can anyone supply any ideas?
Thankyou.

Lozzy 07:26 16 Feb 04

What you need is a decoder, you need a program called win DVD or Power DVD.

click here for Win DVD

click here for Power DVD

Diodorus Siculus 07:30 16 Feb 04

Or, MAximus DVD which is free from maximusdvd.com - follow the instructions on the site for getting the correct codecs to play the DVD.

Stuartli 08:50 16 Feb 04

You only need the basic Windows CDROM driver for a DVD-ROM drive (or, for that matter, a CD-ROM or rewriter drive).

Have you enabled DVD in WMP9 and also the file types from Tools>Options?

I have PowerDVD5 but also occasionally use WMP9 to play DVDs.

Jester2K 09:03 16 Feb 04

But you also need a DVD codec installed. When you install WinDVD / PowerDVD this installs the codec. Then you can use any Media Player (inc Windows MP) to play DVDs as long as it supports the codec.

No codec = no DVD player (just a slightly more expensive CD ROM Drive)

You either need to install a full DVD program like WinDVD or PowerDVD or Maximus DVD as stated above.

beansix 15:10 16 Feb 04

Thankyou everyone.

I remember WinDVD being on one of the magazine cover discs and will try that.

Stuartli 17:58 16 Feb 04