HTML code help needed

Pesala 22:32 23 Feb 03

My Links don't work.

I am trying to open MP3 files in the root directory of a CD. Apart from index.html, and its associated frames, all other html code is in a subdirectory called \html
The following code is supposed to open the file named: A_Amaro - Birth, Death & the Deathless.mp3 which is stored in the root directory, but it generates a "could not open file" error.

A HREF="\A_Amaro - Birth, Death & the Deathless.mp3">

The address given in the address bar is as follows:

file://localhost/A_Amaro - Birth, Death & the Deathless.mp3

I am a novice in HTML as NetObjectsFusion hides all of the code from the user. What would be correct A HREF> code to open a file on the CD in any drive?

caast ©™ 22:48 23 Feb 03

Have you tried removing the forward slash? cannot see where / points you to. don't think its needed
have a go and come back.

Pesala 23:18 23 Feb 03

I didn't do anything, but when I rebooted the CD autostarted and the links are now working fine. Must have loaded the copy from my hard disk or something.

Taran 23:19 23 Feb 03

Can you just confirm one point for me ?

Are you trying to access a file from an existing pre-prepared CD ROM, or are you trying to assemble a CD where HTML web pages make up its content and a link points to a file you would like people to be able to play ?

And incidentally, your A HREF= link has no opening tag. It should have < before the letter A, otherwise it doesn't act as a link at all, and the back slash in your code, like this: A HREF="\ is not necessary if the file is just in the root folder and not in a sub-directory. The backslash will achieve nothing but confusion unless it is used to point to a folder within your root directory.

Say you had a sub-folder called music, your link would then be as follows:
<a href=

"music/filename.mp3">Link Text Goes Here

</a>