HP Scanjet 4070

underworldmagic 11:25 22 Nov 06

Hi

ive been using a HP Scanjet for about 2 years now, only used it about 10 times though. Ive always unplugged the scanner when out of use.

I use the scanner one day, and then unplugged it. then the next day i went to plug it in, and the scanner simply wouldnt power up.

ive tried everything, plugged it in with computer off, when its on, and also when there are no cables plugged in, but nothing is getting the scanner to powerup?

any help please, the scanner is cimply new, just used 10 times in the past 2 years.

Gongoozler 11:29 22 Nov 06

I don't know this scanner, but recently I thought my scanner had failed but it was simply that the transit lock had got knocked into the lock position.

Technotiger 11:32 22 Nov 06

Hi, have you checked fuse in the plug?

underworldmagic 11:34 22 Nov 06

Thanks for your replies.

Im still trying to search for where the transit lock is on the scanner.

ive thought of the fuse, but its one of those big manufacturers plugs, which you cant open :-(

Technotiger 11:38 22 Nov 06

Fuse? can you try it with a different power cable?

underworldmagic 11:41 22 Nov 06

No, i dont have and another plug with the same voltage/ adaptor plug which goes into the scanner :-(

Technotiger 11:44 22 Nov 06

I am not familiar with this scanner, but on my Epson the transit lock is on the under-side front-right - a slider switch.

Technotiger 11:46 22 Nov 06

Anyway, it certainly looks to me as if it is a Power Supply problem.

underworldmagic 11:57 22 Nov 06

ive searched high and low, still cant find a transport lock on the scanner. I agree maybe a power supply problem (fuse etc) but i dont have another adaptor to test it on.

Gongoozler 12:23 22 Nov 06