How to stop applications installing on C:\

m800afc 17:24 29 Jul 10

I am about to do a clean re-install of XP Pro.
Most programs that I will have to re-install give me the option to install to a drive of my choice. There are some programs that automatically install to C:\. How can I force a program to install to a drive of my choice.
I would like to reserve C;\ for nothing other than my OS. My other programs would be on drive d;|

cocteau48 17:39 29 Jul 10

I'm no expert but I would have thought that if a program does not give you the choice to browse and install onto a different drive and will only allow installation on to the drive which carries your OS then it is because that is the only way that the program will successfully install and subsequently work.
It needs to be integrated into your OS in order to function.

tullie 18:44 29 Jul 10

Are you talking about two seperate drives,or C and D partitions of the same drive?

john bunyan 18:49 29 Jul 10

Have look here:

click here

woodchip 22:05 29 Jul 10

All the ones I have seen give Custom Install, read with care when running setup. not just keep click next or ok

m800afc 22:18 29 Jul 10

tullie
I am intending that D:\ is on its own unpartitioned physical drive, unless I am advised that C:\ and D\ are partitions of the same physical drive.

John Bunyan
Thanks very much for the link. Using the information in the link I have found the following registry key.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Sesion Manager\SFC\ProgramFilesDir
The default is C:\Program files.
If, after a clean install, I changed the default to D:\Program files, would all installations be put on D:\ ?
Would there be any consequences of doing this? Would the operating system on C:\ still function normally with the default drive being D:\, or would I have to reset it to C:\ after each installation?

woodchip 22:26 29 Jul 10