How should I back up C Drive data

LARGO 15:24 11 Dec 13

I would like to back up the data on my C Drive on a second drive, D Drive which had been an external expansion drive but is now installed in my PC. There are several options and I would appreciate any advice or opinions. I am using Windows Vista.

I have Norton Ghost 2003 on a disk and considered copying and saving a complete image of the C Drive but this looks a bit complicated as I am by no means an expert on these things.

The second option is to copy and paste the Documents, Downloads, Pictures, Videos, Music and Windows Mail folders from the C to D Drives. Any other folders I would need to copy?

Should I also install Vista (or older 2002 Windows XP) on my D Drive in case I cannot boot up on the C Drive or is this unnecessary?

The Kestrel 16:04 11 Dec 13

If you only want to back up files, pictures, music etc. you can use the back up facility in Vista, found on the Control Panel. You can choose where you want the back up to be stored - so on your D drive. If you want to make a complete image of your C drive then you will need to use Norton Ghost, Acronis, or similar program.

Forum Editor 16:08 11 Dec 13

"Should I also install Vista (or older 2002 Windows XP) on my D Drive in case I cannot boot up on the C Drive or is this unnecessary?"

It's unnecessary.

If you simply want to make a backup of your data files (images, documents, videos and music), my advice is that you should use an external drive. I see little point in backing up data files on the same computer that's used to create them. If the machine fails you'll have to extract the drive, and either put it into a new computer, or into an external drive caddy. Far better to have the backup off the machine.

If what you want is a system backup as well, then creating s drive image is a sensible route to take.