how to setup an FTP

©®@$? 10:47 09 Jan 04

any clues guys

i have windows xp

i would like to be able to have an ftp address so people can view my files etc

how can this be achieved thanks!

Chegs ® 10:52 09 Jan 04

I asked my ISP,they explained howto setup transfer of files to my webspace.Also have a look here click here

©®@$? 11:49 09 Jan 04

cheers

am i being naive or can it be done in a way that someone can connect to my computer, basically have my computer as the server and poeple can log into my ftp/computer,i would prefer that i'm sure it can be done, but as you can tell i have never done this before

©®@$? 11:54 09 Jan 04

i think i am being naive, so it has to be done via webspace?

i thought it might be possible for people to connect to my computer, instead of me having to upload to webspace

like create a restircted area on my computer,create an address to it and login password, give my dad his login details and he can connect to my computer?>

Chegs ® 11:56 09 Jan 04

It can be done,but I read somewhere in PCA its not easy.Running a server isn't recommended,

a)its not easy

b)opening up your system to all and sundry is very risky.

Terrahawk 11:59 09 Jan 04

to set your pc up as an ftp server you would need a server program such as bulletproof ftp server a static ip or a domain. (would be a pain having to tell every body your new ip addy each time you connect)click here ftp server prog.click here usefull if you dont have a static ip you will also need to be aware of any band width restrictions from your isp.And finaly some of these may help click here

Terrahawk 12:05 09 Jan 04

ftp is more secure than p2p yet millions of people risk it every day.Yes their are risks but these can be minimised basic things like give users strong passwords dont allow anonymous log on

©®@$? 12:19 09 Jan 04

i'll look into it thanks!

©®@$? 18:57 09 Jan 04