How to set up a printer network

Luca M 21:06 21 Sep 03

I am an absoloute beginner on networks. I have set up the 2 computers on the network and both are fully working on the internet and file sharing side of things. Untill the printer networking. I just cant figure it out. I have tried to link computer number 1 with Epson Stylus C80 to Computer 2 with HP Deskjet 930C. I want both computers to share both printers. Can anyone tell me how to do this. Both computers are running Win XP Home.

mark500 21:39 21 Sep 03
  Luca M 21:49 21 Sep 03

thanks mark500 but this dosent seem to work. i did what it said. thanks anyway

mark500 21:58 21 Sep 03

Try this way.

To share your printer
Open Printers and Faxes.
Right-click the printer you want to share, and then click Sharing.
The options you see on the Sharing tab differ depending on whether sharing is enabled on your computer. For instructions on what to do next, click the option that describes what you see on the Sharing tab.
I see text stating that printer sharing must be turned on

You need to enable printer sharing by running the Network Setup Wizard. Start it by clicking the link on the Sharing tab, and then follow the instructions. Once sharing is enabled, begin this procedure again.
I see options for sharing or not sharing the printer

On the Sharing tab, click Share this printer and then type a share name for the shared printer.
If you share the printer with users on different hardware or different operating systems, click Additional Drivers. Click the environment and operating system for the other computers, and then click OK to install the additional drivers.
Drivers for users running other versions of Windows (Windows 95, Windows 98, or Windows NT 4.0) are located on the Support CD. Printer drivers for Windows NT 3.1 and Windows NT 3.5 are not included.

Click OK, or, if you have installed additional drivers, click Close.