How safe is eBay?

tomcomputers 20:11 11 Nov 03

Hi guys,

I have found a great deal of £550 for a HP laptop.
However, I have never used eBay before, and am not sure how safe it is.

e.g. You have to pay before you get the actual product etc.

He has got a lot of good feedback though.

Has anyone used eBay before, and can anyone give any advice????

Thx

Tom

levyo1 20:26 11 Nov 03

Tom I have used ebay lots of times no problem at all, but one very carefull thing any bad feedback about the seller DONT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!! it could be a bad risk no matter how good the item looks.

Good Luck

Lee

tomcomputers 20:31 11 Nov 03

Thanks a lot for the advice! I really appreciate it!

As there is no negative feedback, it seems that it might be quite safe.

Thanks again,Tom

LastChip 20:55 11 Nov 03

I have Bought and Sold on eBay and have never had a problem.

However, lev1's advice not to buy from a negative fedback seller is good advice. Bare in mind, normally, the option to return goods does not exist, unless stated as part of the sellers policy, so make sure you read the description very carefully to make sure the goods are what you expect. Any questions - ask the seller. He/she is duty bound to provide honest answers.

I know major manufacturers sell discontinued and reconditioned machines (normally returned under warranty) on eBay, and these can prove good buys.

Fred the flour grader 20:59 11 Nov 03

Hi Tom, There was a item on about e,bay on Watchdog last year. It was a scam of some kind where some guy was going to buy a stereo system with a price "too good to be true." The guy paid the money using his credit card, but it was a scam. Whoever was supposedly selling the item had another name "ghosted" in front of his. The guy who was buying lost his cash, the guy who was selling did not get a sale and the thieves got away with a big load of dosh.