How to reinstall OS from rescue disk

BillyBee 08:19 27 Oct 03

I have been asked to help a friend format his hard drive and reinstall his OS 98SE, at the moment we are only in contact by telephone, he tells me it is a 2 year old Time machine (he thinks?) with only 1 disk (a rescue disk) to reinstall everything.

My problem is although I know how to format and reinstall using the appropriate disks I have no knowledge of using a rescue disk, I know this is a bit vague at the moment and I am trying to get more information off him, but until I do could anyone point me in the right direction as to reinstalling his OS from a rescue disk.

My other problem is he would like to upgrade to XP, can this be done using an XP upgrade disk after I reinstall his 98SE, as with a clean install of XP I would not have the driver disks for his Mobo, graphics, modem etc.

Any help would be much appreciated.

temp003 09:06 27 Oct 03

click here and click Time Support, and then under Technical Support, select Reload, and see which option your friend has.

If he has only a rescue floppy, it's Orange Recovery Disk version 3-5. If he has a floppy and a Reload CD, then it's Orange Recovery Disk version 6 and Reload CD. If he has only a CD, then it's Reload/Backup CD Only. Click on the link and read the procedure. Before restoring everything to factory settings, better detach any new hardware added by your friend first, such as printers.

On upgrade to XP, even if your friend has a Reload CD, it's not an upgrade qualifying CD, and so he can't format the hard disk first and install xp from scratch

He can certainly insert an XP upgrade CD in a working 98 and choose the upgrade route to install XP.

He may be able to install a new fresh copy of XP (instead of upgrade) by inserting the upgrade CD from within 98, and select the New installation (Advanced) mode, but I'm not sure about this.