How to raise 'turn off' temp on my PC

Viv-208691 19:45 17 Jan 05

Hi there, my PC shuts down automatically whenever it hits 45 degrees C. My friend tells me this is quite a low figure for the PC to but cutting out at. Ok, a few questions.

1. Should I raise the temp, if so, what to? And do I do it in the BIOS??

2. If I do do it through the BIOS I have a problem because my keyboard doest kick in straight away and hitting delete has no response!!

3. If 2 cant be solved can I enter BIOS through Windows??

Thanks, running XP Home on 1 1/2 year old PC.

(I have previously posted on this sucject,click here= , I dont think its neccessary for you to read it - 39 posts).

PA28 19:55 17 Jan 05

Do you have a USB keyboard - if so borrow a PS2 as your answers lie in the BIOS. I have my temp set to 65 degrees.

Viv-208691 20:02 17 Jan 05

Yeh it is a USB keyboard. OK, do you recommend me setting my PC to that kind of temp? Can I definately set it using the BIOS?
Is there no way into BIOS through WIndows?

Viv-208691 22:24 17 Jan 05

Ok, Ive got into the BIOS. Is it the 'THRM CPU throttling' that I want to alter? It is currently on 62.5% whatever that means? Do i want to crank it up a notch?

Please assist, thankyou.

Chezdez 22:35 17 Jan 05

yeah, 45 is awfully low

unless your referring to the motherboard temperature??? in which case, LEAVE IT!!!

if it is your processor, then you should be quite OK going up to 65-70 degrees, mines set at 72 degrees (factory settings), on an asus a7v8x-x motherboard

what motherboard is it? i'm sure more people will be able to help out if they know that

or even the make of the PC

Viv-208691 23:17 17 Jan 05

When the CPU hit 45 degrees C the PC turned itself off. That was with the THRM CPU throttle at 62.5%. Is that the setting I need to change? I have 2 higher percentages to select from, which do i chose?

The motherboard is an ABIT IT7.

Thanks for your help, a little more would be greatly appreciated.

Viv-208691 23:39 17 Jan 05