How to password protect downloadable pdf files?

hans100 08:57 14 Jul 06

I believe there should be an ez solution but as a novice I have not succeeded in locating the correct software that specializes in the needed requirement.
Im using the ACTUAL DRAWING software to build the webpages and the Coffee cup Ftp program.
Here's where I am:My hosting account is with godaddy.com where I have ample webspace and bandwidth. I intend to sell passwords via a online auction site to enable downloads of PDF files from my website.
So the visitor can either link from my site to auction site to purchase access codes or vica versa.
On the website the visitors can click on buttons to navigate to the various section pages where the lists of the respective ebook and pdf files of that section are listed.

Some are free downloads where no password is required to download those files but others would require a password to allow that file download. Thus, I imagine that a password entry form to pop up when a file name is clicked.
Once a acceptable password code is entered then the download could proceed. I intend to allocate a value for each file of which the passwords represent a certain value IOW A normal password would have a value of 12 with files ranging from 1 to 3 in value .
In that event I would require the program to be able to appropiate the ongoing value used on respective codes until it is exhausted thus anybody can use that code.
Presently, I have most downloadable files stored in designated folders on my webspace. I will link the listed file name to that file in respective folder. So right now I am busy with that time consuming process but its the password accessability and the dynamic storage of that information where I require advice !
I specifically would appreciate any suggestions on which software would complete this requirement and or what script to utilize that could provide sufficient security to prevent illegal entry.