How to Overclock (for complete beginners!)

Lee-262377 17:01 12 Apr 05

Hi, I have an AMD Athlon XP2500 with 333FSB and 512 L2 Cache, my motherboard is PcChips M848ALU SKT A SIS 748 400 DDR, AGP x8, ATA133, 6ch sound and will take up to 3200 AMD athlon xp, my memory is 256MB Crucial 2700.
I have seen numerous quotes about overclocking my chip up to 3200!!
the problem is I have no idea how to do this. I have no idea about temperatures/voltages etc. which I understand are critical to this process along with fans.
Can anyone give me an idiots step by step guide of how to do this please??

Starfox 17:31 12 Apr 05

Try this it might explain more click here

Totally-braindead 17:36 12 Apr 05

Its entirely up to yourself whether you wish to try overclocking or not but I do wish to point out that if things go wrong you can virtually destroy your computer and as I see from your posting you have a fast computer I see little point. However as I said its entirely up to you, I for one couldn't afford to buy a new PC if things went pear shaped hence I wouldn't even try it.

pb457 17:39 12 Apr 05

I really wouldn't bother you can look at numerous sites that will tell you overclocking is pointless, i mean the 2500 chip is 1.83 ghz the 3200 is 2.5 that extra 700mhz will make a fraction of a milisecond of speed difference. Besides overclocking voids your warranty is very dangerous to your system and can cost you alot of money, in new parts and repairs. To overclock sucessfully you would have to invest in liquid cooling systems which are noisy and inefficient. I have an athlon 2500 + and my dad has a Duron 800mhz i can't tell the difference in speed, if you want to upgrade your speed buy a new stick of ram because Xp alone uses all 256 mb of ram a 512 chip will give you a huge perfomance boost.

Starfox 18:10 12 Apr 05

"Its entirely up to yourself whether you wish to try overclocking or not but I do wish to point out that if things go wrong you can virtually destroy your computer "