how much should I charge?

mco 21:09 05 Dec 03

please help a first timer whos very shy with money. I'm not technical but can follow a template as well as anyone. I designed a basic simple website for my brother's business
click here
( Please view to see how basic we're talking)
His mate (whom I've never met) saw it and wants me to do him one on similar lines - but says he'll pay me. Question is:how much?? I bought his dotcom for a tenner; the hosting package will be about £30 but what about labour, etc?? Obviously I can't charge as much as a 'professional' but it will take me a fair bit of time and I dont' want to be doing it for peanuts. Are we talking...£50? £100? £150? £200? He's ringing me up to discuss money and I need to back up my price!! thanks

Pesala 22:44 05 Dec 03

If it is a simple site, about five pages, it shouldn't take more than five hours, so £25 would be about right as you're not a professional. Show him a preview before it is finished, but tell him if he wants any changes after it is finished, it will be £5 an hour.

Forum Editor 00:06 06 Dec 03

you should even contemplate designing a site for someone for less than £100/150 + hosting and domain name costs.

A professional designer would charge a lot more.

You'll find that when people are paying for a site they tend to be a good deal more picky about it, and you'll need to be firm about the number of revisions you'll make after showing the client the final design. Otherwise you'll be making alterations until the cows come home - it's a trap many new designers fall into. Get a reasonably detailed brief, and show the client a sketch outline of the site structure before you begin.

Sir Radfordin 00:38 06 Dec 03

The first site I designed I sold for about £200 which to me was nice sum - this was about 5 years ago!