How I learnt XHTML/CSS in six weeks

slightlymad 23:04 24 Apr 05

I keep seeing threads asking how to learn CSS, so this may be of interest to some...

Six weeks ago I didn't know the first thing about HTML. I'd previously completed two online Photoshop courses, and I can't praise these highly enough - my knowledge increased a hundred-fold, and I learnt some spectacular techniques. But I digress...

I wanted a website to show off my creations, so I signed up for the "Build Your Website" course. I have to admit it was hard work for an complete beginner, but I now have my first website!

The "online classes" website in question is called LVS (Leader in Virtual Studies"). You download clearly-written weekly lessons, work through them, safe in the knowledge that help is at hand should you get stuck - there's a forum for each "class", which the (highly-qualified) instructor monitors regularly. At the end of each week you upload your assignment for appraisal, and your 'classmates' are encouraged to comment or ask questions.

I'm going on to "Build Your Website 2" in a couple of weeks, which should give me enough HTML/CSS know-how to go on to the DREAMWEAVER course.

LVS link: click here - check out the Course Schedule on the top left.

Oh, and the cost - it's $25 for your first course, then $20 for subsequent ones. Amazing value, considering the first-class learning material and support that you get.

My website, all done in Notepad: click here. (Disregard the content, it's only waffle to fill the pages.) It's very basic of course, but shows how much I learnt in six weeks.

Marie

slightlymad 23:06 24 Apr 05

I keep forgetting that I'm co.uk., not .com! It's here: click here.

slightlymad 00:17 25 Apr 05