How does a shareware program spy after deletion?

  BibleGuru 14:22 03 Dec 03
Locked

I recently downloaded a games shareware application that expired after 30 plays. When it stopped working I deleted the download file, and it's relevant cookies and spylog in my Temp Internet folder.
The next time I redownloaded the shareware it somehow knew that I had used it before...how is this done? and can it be averted?

  Pesala 14:33 03 Dec 03

'Cracks' or copyright infringement - we do not permit the posting of information that will enable other people to use pirated software or to evade the copyright laws.

  Jester2K II 14:39 03 Dec 03

Basically hidden settings will prevent abuse of the shareware scheme. Shareware IS NOT free. You can have limited uses before you pay OR delete it.

As Pesala said no-one will help you get around this.

  Jester2K II 14:40 03 Dec 03

The best way to "get round it" is to pay for it.

  Forum Editor 18:43 03 Dec 03

I'm afraid.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild review: Five hours with Zelda on the Nintendo Switch

1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years

How the painting-like animated sequences in A Monster Calls were created by Glassworks Barcelona

The 22 best Safari extensions | Best Safari plugins: Improve Apple's Safari web browser with these…