How do you vary networking permutations?

The Belarussian Mafia 11:15 12 Jun 06

Hi

I'm a novice when it comes to networking. With the help of this forum I eventually managed to connect my desktop (XP) to my laptop (2K) using a crossover cable - that's all I've ever done. I've now been given a second desktop (XP) for the kids & would like to connect it to the first desktop for gameplay using a crossover cable (-can't afford to splash out on a wireless router & the missus won't allow cables everywhere so we could connect them all using a wired router).

Question: Can I configure the original desktop to work with the second one without undoing the configuration that allows it to connect to the laptop (i.e. can it be configured to connect to either, depending on which one I happen hook up at any given time)?

If this is possible, can I just run the XP wizard on one or both of the desktops without messing up the original config for connecting to the laptop.

Small supplementary question: Will the 3-yr old network card on the second desktop work OK with the 1-yr old network card on the original PC (i.e. might there be different protocols)?

ade.h 14:17 12 Jun 06

It's essentially plug-n-play (or plug-n-prey as it used to be known). Just plug in the RJ45 and configure an extra set of rules in each firewall if required. Running the NSW is optional - especially if file sharing is not needed - as it just holds your hand; it can do nothing whatsoever about firewalls and won't even complete the network if the firewalls haven't been sorted. It's better to use the New Connection Wizard instead if you want some assistance.

Small supplementary answer: Yes.

The Belarussian Mafia 19:25 12 Jun 06

Thanks. Interesting that you talk about configuring both firewalls - I could only get my previous simple network going when the laptop had ZoneAlarm switched off (& I was told this was the only way).