How do you install wine on Linux?

keith-236785 09:25 05 Jul 05

Hi

i have Mandrake 10.2 LE as a dual boot with Winxp, i am trying to install wine on linux so i can ditch winxp for good (i have one game which i have paid a subscription for and has 200days left and i need to run it from windows) i want to see if it will run via wine, if so its bye bye M$....i am struggling though. i am a newbie to linux and need help, i have downloaded wine and can access the files but i dont know how to get it to install. i have tried right click and run terminal from here and tried to enter commands but as i said, im a newbie and must be doing something wrong....i did get it to run through the setup once but it exited with an error message, i cant get it to run again to see what the message was.

any help would be more than welcome.

i also seem to be having trouble setting up my canon smartbase mp360 printer/scanner/coppier, there are no linux drivers available for the scanner/coppier but the printer is setup as a canon s300 although the print seems very poor (printer is very quick compared to windows though)

i have looked for linux drivers for the scanner but didnt find any, i have tried to setup the scanner manually but mandrake reports no scanners found.

thanks, keith

octal 10:20 05 Jul 05

If I might suggest, don’t ditch Windows entirely, but dual boot with Linux.

The reason I say this is that running Windows games in Linux via Wine you will have difficulty, in fact it probably won’t work at all, especially if you want to use the joystick, which isn’t even well supported in Linux.

I don’t know much about Mandrake 10.2 LE, is it a free one? Normally if you purchase one of the distros they come bundled with all the software you require including Wine, at least my Xandros did, so that saves you hunting around trying to find software till you get more used to loading programs and using Linux.