How do I update my motherboard drivers

erkmatrix 13:15 04 Mar 04

I'm a total novice so could someone please explain how to update my motherboard drivers and to find out what motherboard is actually on my machine.

ATI say that my motherboard could be causing conflics with my graphics card.

Â ÑÌÇKÑÂMË 13:40 04 Mar 04

You first need to know your chipset so go to
click here

and download and install this it will tell you all you need to know about your pc.

Regards.

erkmatrix 13:57 04 Mar 04

can't I find out somehow by going somewhere on my machine, I keep up clustering my PC with all these various software programs didn't really want another one.

Â ÑÌÇKÑÂMË 14:15 04 Mar 04

Yeah read the mobo manual.Works wonders

Regards.

Sheila-214876 14:16 04 Mar 04

Yes, there is another way. Open up your PC and write down the numbers that are stamped on the Motherboard. Now go to Google and type the numbers into the search box. But it is so much easier to download aida32 as  ÑÌÇKÑÂMË has suggested.

JerryJay 14:32 04 Mar 04

junipaire,

This is really a great software which give you a report what on your PC.

The good thing about this program is that it does not to be installed. Just download, unzip it into a directory and click *.exe file to run it. When you finish, delete whole directory, no trace left.

Once you know your motherboard (chipset) maker and model number then go to manufacture's web site to download.

If your machine is produced by some big box shifters such as dell, you may out of luck because they use their special version of components and I am not sure if they offer drive software for download, you may need to speak their support team.

Diemmess 14:38 04 Mar 04

Usually these are OK for that particular motherboard.

If the clue about your graphics card is that you have just changed it, then you may be having trouble either with its own drivers really being the correct ones for your O/S, or because the Graphics card was once perhaps "onboard."