How do i make my wireless network secure?

nebuchan 19:57 06 Oct 05

Hello,
Is there an online guide somewhere, or could someone point me in the right direction. I am a student in a student house and have got 5 laptops accessing wirelessly the internet via a wireless router. It is working perfectly, however it is not secure.

What is the easiest way to secure it, through windows or through the router.

I only ask, as i had a go with my network at home, and locked all our computers out, so had to completely set everything again, which i am keen to avoid.

Cheers

mgmcc 20:58 06 Oct 05

Most routers support MAC address filtering. You can enable this so that only those wireless adapters whose MAC address has been entered into the router's settings can access it.

To find the adapter's MAC address (Media Access Control address), open a Command Prompt window and, at the prompt, type:

IPCONFIG /ALL

and press Enter. In the details of the Wireless adapter, you will see the "Physical Address". This 12 character hexadecimal string in six groups of two is the MAC address.

In addition, there should be instructions in the router's manual to enable WEP or WPA encryption.

Taff36 23:06 06 Oct 05

Which Router is it? We may be able to point you to the manual online for instructions?

Forum Editor 20:42 08 Oct 05

Somewhere in the router's configuration pages you'll find an option to enable 128 bit WEP encryption. You simply make up your own authentication key - using any combination of the numbers 0-9 and the letters A-F (case sensitive) and then tell each computer to submit that key when accessing the network.

There are other steps you can take, but that method is very easy, very quick, and pretty effective.

Taff36 23:43 11 Oct 05

I`m sure (s)he`ll getback to us ........