How do I make a flexible banner in NOF8?

ade.h 21:07 20 Jan 06

I would really like to make a flexible banner that dynamically resizes to fit different browser windows. I know this can be done, because I have seen sites that have it, but I don't know how it's done. I would like it to cover the whole width of the page or very close to it.

I think it uses a table, so I've been experimenting with a table click here
to see what I have so far. Basically, it doesn't work, because I don't know what settings I need to use or what size/shape it should be. The NOF8 user manual is useless. I think it may involve alignment or sizing or something.... I just don't know. Do I need to do anything with the layout region or master border to allow it to work?

Please bear in mind that I have no coding knowledge, so any advice needs to be based on NOF8's table properties and anything else that affects it.

beynac 17:51 25 Jan 06

What you have done seems to work. The black header covers the whole top of the page. Are you trying to get "Title here" to be central? If so you just need to change the text alignment of that paragraph to "center".

Sorry if I've misunderstood what you're trying to achieve!

beynac 17:53 25 Jan 06

You have got three nested tables. There is one (the inner one)that is set at a width of '440'. You need to change this to '100%'.

ade.h 18:24 25 Jan 06

Hi Beynac.

I'm happy with the title's current position, but when I try to work this out, I don't get it to shrink with the window.

When I open my own link, the banner does not fill the window and does not shrink to fit either. This is the case in all my browsers.

It's the same with the site project from which I took this banner. When I try to preview the site in any browser, the banner doesn't work right.