How do I let customers download software ...

stlucia 08:35 19 Jan 04

... from my web site?

I am a beginner at web design. I've designed my site using raw HTML code, but I can't find in my HTML reference how to place a demo program (about 3Mb) on my site so that anyone can download it. I've got the current version of Serif Web whatever-it-is, but I can't find such a facility in it either.

Sir Radfordin 08:42 19 Jan 04

If you are happy for them just to download it then you can link to the .exe or .zip file in the same way you would link to a .htm file. Then when they click the link they will be offered the chance to save or open the file.

It is worth making it obvious that this is what the link will do so people don't expect to be taken to another web page only to found out they are downloading your software.

stlucia 08:54 19 Jan 04

Thanks Sir Radfordin. But when I click a link to a "normal" web page I don't automatically get the option to download it, so how do I make that the default option (with, presumably, the Windows screen which asks if I want to download it or read/run it) when they click on the link to my file?

I can put the link on a separate "download" page so that it's clear to them what they're about to do when they hit the link to the file.

Jester2K 08:57 19 Jan 04

The website will pop up to option to download automatically. As Sir Radfordin says just make a link to the exe and the users browser wil do the rest. You don't need to code anything in.

Jester2K 08:58 19 Jan 04

Before you do it for real it might be worth practising with a smaller exe file.

Pesala 10:20 19 Jan 04

In Webplus (assuming it's the same as Page Plus) you just create a link to the file on our hard disk, and when you publish the site the file is automatically uploaded.

I wonder whether a ZIP format might be better to use than EXE as some people block EXE files.

Forum Editor 10:21 19 Jan 04