How do I hard wire my new laptop to my PC

golfpro 17:25 18 Oct 07

I have a Cable modem to my PC, but no Router as yet. I would like to connect my new laptop to my PC via a hard wire connection just to down load a few programs from the internet which I need to work with until I get my Router. How do I do this and would I have to configure my Laptop's modem/Lan card, or would it recognize this when I plugged it in. I have never done this before, so I hope someone can help.

Modem type: Kathrein DOCSIS 2.0
Laptop: Acer TravelMate 5720G

STREETWORK 20:40 18 Oct 07

You will need to use a crossover cable and then set up the lappy using control panel, internet connections, add new connection and follow the wizard...

mgmcc 20:42 18 Oct 07

Connect the two computers directly with a *CROSSOVER* CAT5 ethernet cable. “Internet Connection Sharing” is then enabled on the actual Internet connection in the “host” PC and the “client” PC will have Internet access provided the “host” is running and online.

To enable “Internet Connection Sharing” in Windows XP, open the Network Connections folder, right click the actual internet connection (modem connection), select Properties and then the Advanced tab. Tick the box “Allow other network users to connect through this computer’s Internet connection”.