how do i completely wipe my computer

craigchaos01 19:09 28 Apr 04

after a w/end installing and unistalling lots of different software(freeware full of spyware and other unwantables) my pc is acting very unstable.I've tried cleaning my registry and spybot s&d to no avail.thers nothing of importance on the pc so i've decided i want to wipe my pc and start from scratch,but how??? Do i format my c drive whilst in xp or do i do it from the BIOS. Next Q. is do i have to reinstall the disc that came with my motherboard(intel express installer)1st, then my xp. also im set up for RAIDconfig, when does that go on. Im a novice user learning quickly and would appreciate any help preferably as simple as possible, but any would be great.

Dan the Confused 19:17 28 Apr 04

If I were you I would also run ad-aware first (make sure both spybot and ad-aware are upadated first).

Also, how did you clean your registry? I use 'Registry First Aid' and it keeps my system stable as I download a lot of freeware and shareware too.

Dan the Confused 19:20 28 Apr 04

And run a virus checker too.

961 19:28 28 Apr 04

Have you the operating system disk? e.g. Windows XP, or is your software on a recovery disk

Have you a driver disk for the sound, audio etc on your computer

What brand computer do you have and is it under warranty?

Have you tried "system restore" in Start...accesories...system tools, to a date before your troubles?

Don't start again without working out what the problem is...it's not that easy

craigchaos01 19:59 28 Apr 04