How do I back my system?

ambepc 22:03 25 Aug 03

I have a very old IBM computer which was given to me second hand with windows xp professional installed on it. it has a floppy drive which doesnt work and only a CD Rom drive. How do i back up my system, as I have no removable storage device. Apologies in advance if this question seems obvious, I am complete beginner with what appears to be very advanced operating system that I am trying to master. Please help

krypt1c 22:08 25 Aug 03

Why not install a cd-rw. They're fairly chaep these days. Check here click here

TommyRed 22:21 25 Aug 03

I installed a CD-RW myself, a year ago I wouldn't of took the case off. The instructions where relatively easy to understand, if you don't feel confident, ask your local computer store. You should pick up a reasonable one for about £40/50 try and make sure the Nero software comes bundled with it. I use Acronis True Image 6.0 which takes an image of your drive so you can re-install to that point if you come unstuck in future. I paid around £35 for mine but I believe you can get earlier versions for free, sorry don't know where, but I'm sure someone on here does. Good Luck, post here if you have problems. TR

Tinkey Winkey 22:30 25 Aug 03

TommyRed - Are drive imaging programs different from Roxios Go Back or System Restore ?

krypt1c 22:32 25 Aug 03

Should have included this link click here where you can get Norton Systemworks Pro 2002 for £24.00. This includes Norton Ghost.

Blitzer 23:48 25 Aug 03

The Pink Panther,

No. (sorry for butting in!) :)

A dedicated imaging program such as Norton Ghost or Drive Image do exactly that, allow you to create an image of your HD as and when you require. You can pretty much think of an image as photograph that captures a given scene at the point when the shutter was released.