how do i add a second hard drive

woofwoofbark 12:46 17 Oct 05

firstly , Im a novice pc user and want to add a second hard drive to my computer and dont know how .... I have a 40 gig HD that has been split to read as 2 drives C: & D: but a friend sold me another 40 gig HD which will double my capacity to 80 gig , i was wondering how to go about this ...... I have a dvdrom drive and a separate cd rom drive .... i see there is a grey cable connecting my DVD rom to HD and then to the motherboard plus the cd rom has a grey cable connecting straight to the motherboard the cable has a black connection socket in the middle , is this for a second HD ?

I am on windows xp home 512 ram amd athlon 1400 click here for my motherboard spec

hope this makes sence and forgive my comp iggnorance lol im just happy to get online and an extra hd space would be welcomed

cheers

geo

woofwoofbark 12:49 17 Oct 05

can i increase the proccessor , i have a 1400 amd athlon and was wondering if it is possible to upgrade anytime in the future

thanks again

geo

ventanas 12:59 17 Oct 05