How to change Local Area Connection??

Sabi 16:58 22 Jan 07

Hello;

The computer given to me has a different Local Area Connection in "Net work connection" as the previous owner had a different ISP than mine.

I like to know how to change that to Aol(BT Voyager 100 modem)
I am not a computer expert so “easy guide” will be most appreciated.

Many thanks

Sabi

JaßîsFaß ˜ 17:02 22 Jan 07
  rodriguez 17:04 22 Jan 07

The best thing to do is just right click the Local Area Connection icon and press Disable. This will put a red x through it and stop it from saying "Network cable unplugged". Then insert the CD that came with your modem, install the drivers and then plug in the modem just as you did when you first got AOL broadband.

Diemmess 17:07 22 Jan 07

Best guide I know for this change to Aol is Aol's own CD from their BB kit.

Assuming you have the necessary hardware from the older PC then put follow the prompts exactly from that CD. Pay particular attention to having the Voyager powered up but NOT connecting the USB lead until prompted to do so.

If you know what modem was used by the previous owner, it would be a good idea to uninstall its hardware first and reboot before installing the Voyager

Sabi 19:20 22 Jan 07

Thanks for all your replies :-)

Before I tried anything, I thought to ask for help from AOL! (big mistake)

I spoke to one of their Tech support who gave me some instructions to follow for the new BB driver download through my Aol CD.

With the steps given I had to uninstall and re-install Aol and BT voyager 100 few times. I don't know what happened, but I am faced with a dead PC now!!!!!!!!!!!

The download didn't get through anyway, so I turned off the pc and turned it back on again which turned to a disaster!! The lights of the motherboard comes on but it makes a horrible noise with which nothing shows on the monitor!!!
The screen is completely black!! Despite disconnecting and reconnecting it from the wall, it is still black!!!