How can I speed up the opening of web pages please

Granny. 18:27 01 Apr 04

Apologies... Novice let loose !!!
My computer is 2nd-hand and rather elderly and I have Windows 98, but don`t have the disc.
Whenever I go to a new site or even just open a page, it takes forever. Is there any way I can make it any faster, bearing in mind that I am a complete novice and don`t know (or understand) all the technical terms yet, so idiot proof advice would be very much appreciated.

Totally-braindead 18:34 01 Apr 04

The only thing I can think of is - what speed is your modem, if its not a 56k one then you could get a new one for about £15 which would speed things up

Totally-braindead 18:35 01 Apr 04

Goto START CONTROL PANEL SYSTEM

Totally-braindead 18:35 01 Apr 04

Goto START CONTROL PANEL SYSTEM

Totally-braindead 18:39 01 Apr 04

Sorry thats me trying to type too fast goto START CONTROL PANEL SYSTEM and look for the modem, if it says 56k then you're stuck, if it says something else eg 33.6k Rockwell modem then you can speed things up by buying a faster modem. Also have a look at what speed you are connecting at, if you let the mouse pointer sit above the 2 little computer monitors down at the bottom of your screen it will tell you what speed you are connected at.

Pesala 20:13 01 Apr 04

In advanced options, scroll down the page to multimedia. You can uncheck some or all of these boxes:

Play animations in web pages ?

Play videos in webpages ?

Play sounds in webpages ?

Show pictures ?

The last of these should make a big difference as pictures take much longer to download than text, but it will also make a big difference to the way that the page looks. The PCA site at least is quite usuable without pictures. Try it and see if it is any better for you.

If it doesn't help, go back to the Advanced options and click on Restore Defaults.

Granny. 13:44 02 Apr 04