How to be more creative with NOF8

flick 22:20 11 Feb 05

I have been using NOF8 to create and update a website for about 4 months now. It's meant to showcase some of the better photos my husband takes on our frequent visits to Iceland.

Now that I've got the hang of photo-gallery I would like to improve on its style. eg the options for framing the thumbnails are a bit limited - if you want something simple they don't tile across the page evenly and the ones that do are, IMHO, rather chunky and intrusive.

I started designing my own thumbnails but then couldn't work out how to retain all the other benefits of photo-gallery such as easily transferring images into the gallery,stacked pages and thus the ability to scroll through the enlarged images.

How do I go about adapting what is otherwise proving to be very useful software?

PurplePenny 23:57 11 Feb 05

I can't answer your question as I'm not familiar with NOF but I'd love to see the photos of Iceland.

flick 00:16 12 Feb 05

Thank you for your interest Purple Penny. The address is click here I was reluctant to post the URL because I don't want to seem as though I'm advertising on a help forum. If you have any comments of the design/layout they would be most gratefully received.

My husband has always been keen on photography(and birds) and now that he's 'gone digital' setting up a website seemed a good way to combine my computing interests with his photography.

PurplePenny 14:08 12 Feb 05

Your husband's photos are just stunning and the site that you have created shows them off beautifully. The only minor point is that some of the darker photos might benefit from a pale border to stop them blending into the background. But maybe not - it didn't stop me wanting to see the larger image of the lava flow at dusk.