Hosting....Sorry to ask the same old question

woofbarkdonkey 22:08 02 Jun 08

I'm sure you're all fed up with this old chestnut but I don't have a clue which to pick.
I am looking for a free or really cheap hosting package for an animal rescue site, at the moment it is a forum that started December 21st & has 750 members already. I have asked admin what bandwidth/traffic we are using but all she could tell me was...

Statistic Value
Number of posts: 42112
Posts per day: 256.48
Number of topics: 3365
Topics per day: 20.49
Number of users: 750

All that means nothing to me but we are getting on average 100 new members a week at the moment. We now want a website & forum preferably together, a free one would be great but then we would more than likely get ads & on the whole they would probably not fit in ethically, I think it would be better to let our own ad space on the site & forum then any money raised could go into the rescue funds.
As you can guess I am a novice at this (only ever built two sites before) & have somehow volunteered to build the site, so it needs real easy web building tools. The site will have lots of info, loads of pictures, links & much more as it grows (hopefully).
I have looked at so many hosting packages my head hurts & I'm getting more undecided the more I look at.
I can give you the link to the forum if it helps & the free site I built to show you my limited capabilities if links are allowed.
Sorry for the long post, I do tend to waffle!

sean-278262 02:02 03 Jun 08

click here I use these to host my site. $20USD allows lifetime upgrades on your account. 300GB monthly data use (my site is currently hovering at around 500mb per month so not even 1% and it has about 200 users as well as a few outsiders visiting.

You also get 5GB of space. 8mb max file size. Most people wont need more than half this and if you pay the £10 or so to upgrade you get 100mb max sizes and this is just the best anywhere for that little money.