home networking PLEASE HELP

Baynesey 19:46 04 Jul 05

hi all,
I'm a new member, so hi.

Dont no if this is in the right place so sorry if not.

I'm a total novice when it comes to computer, but me and my bro would like to set a home network up and share an internet connection. we both have ethernet network adaptors 10/100 ( dont no if that means anything.)

I've brought an ethernet cable to link the two but i dont no what to do next.

Ive read that i dont need a hub because its only to computers is this true,

Ive run the network wizard, but i cant get them to connect Please help.

If anyone can help please try not to use to much jargon.

thanks in advance
Dan

01chris 20:40 04 Jul 05

you need a crossover cable (click here)

run the network wizard without the cable plugged in. tell it to "ignore dissconnected hardware" and finish the wizard. Then plug the cable in and reboot both computers. It should work now.

Post again if need be

Baynesey 20:56 04 Jul 05

do both pcs need to be connected to the internet.

mgmcc 22:17 04 Jul 05

<<< do both pcs need to be connected to the internet.>>>

No, you have a "host" PC which connects to the Internet and you enable "Internet Connection Sharing" on its actual connection to the internet (the modem). This will automatically configure the Local Area Connection's TCP/IP settings with the IP address 192.168.0.1 and subnet mask 255.255.255.0

The "client" PC has its Local Area Connection's TCP/IP settings configured to get its IP address automatically, which it does from the "host" PC.

The "client" then has internet access provided the "host" is online.

Any firewall software needs to be configured to allow access to the networked PCs by entering their IP addresses in the "trusted" area and, if you are using Zone Alarm in the "host" PC, the Internet Zone Security level must be reduced from High to Medium or Internet Connection sharing traffic will be blocked.

Baynesey 23:15 04 Jul 05