He's killed it!!

Skulkin 14:33 05 Feb 03

Hi all

Can any of you kind people help a complete novice?

I lent an old pc to my brother.

A friend of his tried to speed it up for him!!

He says that this friend 'may have changed some settings'.

Now it doesnt work at all.

At start up (or where it should be) it says:-

[200453]Configuration Error
There is an incorrect value in the Configuration storage.

at the bottom of the screen it says Press Esc to continue.

On pressing Esc it then says:-

[200458]Configuration Error
Unknown hard drive type.Assign in Configuration Utility.

Escape then brings up:-

Monitor Program

1. System Information
2. Security
3. Boot Command
4. Diagnostics Tests
5. Debugger
6. BIOS Update

ESC Exits

Is there any easy (ish) solution?

Please unravel this gobbledegook for me.

Or should I throw it out of the window?

Thanx in advance

Ben Avery (Work) 14:39 05 Feb 03

click here

May need more "bumps" folks!

©®@$ђ 14:47 05 Feb 03

ask your brothers friend what he has done,where did he do his tinkering, in the bios, in windows or inside the case, ask him that question and post back with the answer, it will be easier for us to pin point the problem, but basically the error is pointing to the hardrive, so maybe that needs to be detected in the bios.which is where it gives you the oiptions.

Monitor Program

1. System Information 2. Security 3. Boot Command 4. Diagnostics Tests 5. Debugger 6. BIOS Update

ESC Exits

i would start by looking in Boot Command , make sure that the hardrive is detected and is one of the boot devices

then save and reboot

do you know which version of windows you have got on that machine

MalcSP 14:54 05 Feb 03

I clicked on it.
I think that we need to know more about the set-up Skulkin has. I suspect someone has been into the BIOS.
When powering up tap the delete key. The BIOS screens will be displayed.