HELP! wireless networking confusion

elfo 11:56 20 Nov 07

hello -

we're having serious problems connecting our Buffalo wireless router to our Fujitsu Siemens PC. A basic question to begin with - does the PC (which will act as the ICS host) need a wireless network adapter?

there is no 'wireless network connection' icon displayed in the network connections window...

sorry, i'm terrible with computers!

AlexPB 12:08 20 Nov 07

Hi,

If your computer has not got built in wireless, which most PC's tend not to have then you will need to install a wireless adapter to enable you to pick up the signal.
Upon installing this, the setup process will search for connect you to your network. Once the install is complete you should be done. :)

Hope this helps
Alex.

I am Spartacus 12:09 20 Nov 07

I'm not an expert on wireless connections either but the way mine is setup is that the Desktop is connected via a cable to the router but the other PCs accessing the internet do so through the router using either an onboard wireless connection or a USB dongle.

You would only need a wireless adapter on the desktop if you wanted to access files on that or share the printer from the other PCs on your network. To do this would require the main PC to be switched on.

AlexPB 12:10 20 Nov 07

So basically buy a wireless adapter and install it and it will do it all for you.

Alex

elfo 12:11 20 Nov 07

hello! thank you for your help - do i need a wireless adapter even if we have an ethernet cable connecting the router to the pc?

and if we do need an adapter, is there a particular kind we should be looking for?

thanks very, very much!

AlexPB 12:21 20 Nov 07

Well if you have an ethernet cable connecting the box to the PC then its not a wireless network its a wired one, which could be a job.

Theres no specific adapter to get just one with a strong signal so you wont strugle with connection.

Heres a couple of descent ones from d-link and which are respectable brands and should be good.