Help - on wireless network needed!

Maggie May 11:10 29 Mar 04

I have a desktop pc connected to broadband via a usb connection (no PCI card) to a Motorola Surfbroad Cable Modem.

I have just bought a notebook with built in Wireless Lan 54 Mbit/s IEEE 802.11g (802.11b compatible).

I would like to wirelessly access the existing broadband connection and also the printer and ideally share files etc with the other pc from this new notebook.

I have had conflicting advice as to the best way to achieve this (from 18 year old salesmen at Staples/Comet etc-that I don't have much confidence in).

I don't necessarily want the cheapest option just a future proof one that will allow another computer to be added at a later date.

I would appreciate any advice as I'm a newbie to this networking business and my head is spinning

byfordr 11:45 29 Mar 04

This thread contains links to other useful threads and some info in it.

HTH

R

byfordr 12:15 29 Mar 04

click here

Sorry didn't paste thread in!

R

JerryJay 12:22 29 Mar 04

check out homenethelp click here, a lot of ideas and instruction there.

Do not rely too much on salespersons old or young, they just want to sell you the stuff they can make most commission not what you need.

byfordr 13:22 29 Mar 04

Personally I think one of the all-in-one units (modem/router/wireless) is the easiest route. As you have the wireless g standard with the laptop go for a wireless g standard wireless router. The main advantage is you can just leave the unit on to connect any pc to the network, if you have a modem wired into a pc, that pc needs to be on to use it. To connect the desktop to the network you can either go the wireless route and get some form of wireless g adapter. Or if you want to save a few pounds connect it via the router using networking cable (cat5) (You will need a network card on the pc to do this) Something like this click here allows you to add 4 pcs hardwired to it, and wireless b and g standard computers as well.