Help!! Which Broadband Provider for PC and Laptop?

lisalab1 15:34 21 Oct 07

Im new to this which I need help as I im not Computer whizz.....I want to have both my PC and Laptop connected to the internet.

1st of all - Both PC and Laptop do not have any wireless connection.

2nd of all - The PC does not have a modem built in but my Laptop does.

Is there a internet broadband provider or broadband package which I can have them both running?

Any help would be greatful

johnnyrocker 15:43 21 Oct 07

any isp will enable both to work.

johnny.

woodchip 15:46 21 Oct 07

The modem built into the Laptop is only for Dial-Up on a Phone line not Broad Band. And you cannot connect by it wireless. You need a Modem With Built in Wireless Router. If you are in Cable aria You may be able to connect that way but you need the right Modem router to connect to Cable. If you want to do it by means of a BT line then it a ADSL one you need Laptop And desktop need either Ethernet port or Wireless. If non you will need either USB dongle or Card Adapters

woodchip 15:47 21 Oct 07

PS PCADVISOR are giving a free wireless Modem if you take out a years Sub on the Mag. Look at the top of the main page on the right

lisalab1 16:02 21 Oct 07

At the moment I have the wanadoo broadband (turned orange) with the speedtouch 330 USB ASDL modem.

I wanted to switch the to the Thomson ST 585v6 but the orange customer service wasn't helpful pointing me in the right direction whether I could use it instead of the speedtouch 330 to have my Laptop and PC connected together.

Isn't there a way??

lisalab1 16:59 21 Oct 07

I've just checked on thomson-broadband.co.uk on the wireless router 'thomson ST 585v6. It includes multiple uses on single IP address.

Can this replace my speedtouch 330?

Jim_F 18:30 21 Oct 07