HELP!!!!! WEBSITE DOWN!!!!(FASTBAND)

iccle_lynz 01:21 20 Nov 05

Im a newbie to this so please bear with me....

I created a site for my family's business and had hosting and webmail by fastband.co.uk with our chosen domain name.

Everything has been fine for 8 months then this week, bam, our website has disappeared as well as fastband. I have tried emailing and calling but I get no reply and the phone clicks off (Mmm not a good sign).

As Fastband have presumabley gone down the loo...I'm now wondering if we still own our domain name or if I need to find a way of 'buying' it again before finding a new web host...can anyone help? My family need the website bad as it's on all their advertisments....eeek!

Red Devil 11:27 20 Nov 05

I take it that you registered your domain name via Fastband?

As I understand it, that doesn't mean that Fastband "own" it and that you will have not have "lost" the domain name.

Whoever you registered it via would have registered it via Nominet if you had a .uk TLD who deal with .uk domains or ICANN if you had a .com TLD or other TLD's like this - but you should still be the registrant.

You should still be the one who the domain is registered to and there's a way you can confirm this.

Do a WHOIS search click here on your domain and it should report back that you ARE the registrant.

What you may need to do to get your site - and business - back online as I'm sure that's what you would like is to transfer your domain to another registrar.

Active Domain provide a service where you can make them your registrar click here.

It'll cost you to do this - and I would imagine it would cost at any other company that would do this for you - but at least you'll be able to administer your domain again.

Then you can arrange another hosting package and set up your domain to access your site via your new host and you'll be back up and online again.

Hope I've helped in some way.

iccle_lynz 17:10 20 Nov 05

Cheers Guys, you are both superstars,