Help a Web Design Newbie

JayDay 13:55 01 Apr 04

I am new to web design and currently building a little site using MS Frontpage.

1. How do I password protect one of the pages. I want to publish family pics on one of the pages but don't want every tom dick or harry to look at them.

2. Any good sites for free web buttons, backgrounds etc.

3. If you are going to tell Frontpage is crap then give me an alternative, but bear in mind I'm a novice.

Forum Editor 18:58 01 Apr 04

FrontPage isn't that word you used, it's an excellent design application, although it acquired a less than perfect reputation when in its earlier versions. A bad reputation is easily gained and difficult to lose but FP 2003 is far and away the best version yet - it can certainly give Dreamweaver a run for its money in many situations. If you really want to try another program take a look at NetObjects Fusion - in my opinion one of the best for newcomers to web design.

There are hundreds of free password applets available - just run a search in Google - but my absolute favourite (cleverly called 'Web Password') costs around $45. It's the only one that I know of with 128-bit encryption which makes it virtually bomb-proof. You can find out more if you
click here

As far as buttins etc are concerned there are thousands of sites out there - Google will give you a hundred or so to start you off.

Forum Editor 18:59 01 Apr 04

buttons - sorry.

woodbexhill 19:55 01 Apr 04

Yes I agree that Frontpage or NetObjects Fusion are more suited for 'newbies' in comparison to the more complex and possibly harder-to-use features of Dreamweaver.

There are plenty of buttons, and backgrounds etc. available across the net, just the same with Web Design tutorials if you need a hand.

You can try: click here

PurplePenny 20:34 01 Apr 04

.... FE to mention it ....

but you should go out and buy yourself a copy of this month's PC Advisor (May 2004 Issue 106)