HELP! Vinyl (LP'S) recording sound

hatters1980 07:55 19 Jan 05

I am a novice with musical terminology. I have recently started attempting to record all my vinly to pc in order to create CD compilations of all my fovourite tracks. I am using an old hi-fi system which has no phono ports, just a headphones socket. I have connected the headphones socket to the mic in on my pc with very varied results using Nero6 wave maker. Have had slightly more success connecting through line-in, direct to sound card, using nero smart-trax! I have been unable to completely convert audio sound quality to digital sound without holding humming and some hissing. When I play the CD's on other players the sound quality is very poor with many different pitches and tones missing from the original recording. Can anyone help! Is there any freeware software outthere that could help me successfully complete my task!

cris66 08:20 19 Jan 05

I'm doing something similar with dance 12"s. I found that if you want the quality - and considering the time & hassle involved you really only want to do it once - you need the proper gear. The signal from vinyl will only be as good as the weakest link in your system. There are free software options but i found them pretty poor. I spent £25 on pinnacle Clean software and its fantastic, certainly does the job well. I also use db poweramp to convert the .wavs > .mp3s.
Look for old articles in PC Adviser, within last year there was at least one, very informative.
Unfortunately, I would say the problem might start with your hi-fi. I had to up-grade my amp to have a phono pre-amp to get a good signal. Vinyl is famous for low quality sound out-put. I guess thats why everyone goes for cds...

VideoSentry 08:36 19 Jan 05