HELP - Slooooow Laptop

southpaw 20:02 23 Nov 05

Hi

Can anyone give me some help and advice. I’m no expert and would be very grateful of your help, after all this is the best place to come!

My friend has a Dell laptop Pentium 1 or 2. Using Windows 98 and has 64MB Ram. It is extremely SLOW. Can take between 10 – 20mins to load up and when it shuts down takes about 20 – 25 minutes to shut down but the screen still shows Windows 98 shutting down screen. (The PC lights go off and the Hard Drive stops so there is no sound but strangely the screen stays on still showing the Windows logo.)

Therefore she has to switch off at the Off Switch.

I’ve installed Spybot, AdAware and Ccleaner. There were no viruses but a load of adware and spyware. Now its clean.

In the MSCONFIG I’ve turned off all the applications that don’t need to start.

But there is still no change in times for loading up and shutting down.

She currently has F-Secure AntiVirus installed. Is this the culprit?

Anything else I can do?

Thanks in advance.

(the search facility on here isn’t working so I can’t check for other posts at the moment)

woodchip 20:06 23 Nov 05

My suggestion is colect all drivers and if you have a win98 disk and key, do a clean install of 98 and reload drivers

southpaw 20:18 23 Nov 05

Unfortunately don't have these. Long story but its a laptop that was sold from Student to student!

Personally I'd upgrade but at the moment thats not financially possible.

woodchip 20:26 23 Nov 05