Help setting up new ADSL connection

CubicleMonkey 15:46 23 Aug 04

Hi people

I've been trying to set up my new ADSL connection, which I've never done before. I have an external ADSL modem router already plugged into my computer and the connection is OK (XP says so) - and the line has now been ADSL enabled (I think - it has a steady green light on which agrees with the manual).

The problem is where I go now. The manual says to launch a browser and type in click here; then it says a username and password will be prompted. But when I do this, all I get is the same connection window that I'd have for dial-up - is this right?

I have all the necessary passwords and parameters etc from the ISP, but if I can't get to the router's menu I can't put them in! If anyone can give me a quick idiot guide to setting it up - or point me towards a good website, this would be hugely appreciated!

Thanks in advance :o)

(previously posted in the other forum. What can I say, I'm dense).

Hunky 16:09 23 Aug 04

Hi, I'm probably as dense as u r.
When u say ' then it says a username and password will be prompted. But when I do this, all I get is the same connection window that I'd have for dial-up - is this right?' I get the same window, & all I do is enter the info that I have AND click on remember my details or whatever words to that effect. Then I just click CONNECT...& AWAY WE GO.
Each time I logon, I have to double click the 'Dial uo' icon on my desktop, & then 'connect' in the new window. Hope this makes some sense.
P.S.Which ISP you with?....I must follow this one through....it's interesting.

mgmcc 16:10 23 Aug 04

Often routers are configured using a web page which is accessed by entering "http" etc followed by an IP address, in your case it appears to be 10.0.0.2