//some 3rd party need geo

Help setting up adsl router / windows ME

RoosterUK 20:33 01 Apr 04

Hi all
I'm taking the leap from 56K to adsl.
I have the hardware, Zyxel 650 4port router/modem,and my service goes active soon.
The router/modem arrived pre configured and has the username/password already.I have an ethernet card installed and can reach the routers configuration page by typing its ip address (supplied by the manual) into my web browser, so I think all the cables/nic are working ok.
The router has a steady 'DSL' light so I believe its connecting to the exchange ok.
I'm waiting for my ISP to enable thier bit.

Trouble is I've got no experience of networks / adsl.
So can anyone help with the following.

I currently connect to the internet with a dial up service set up to only connect when I click the desktop icon.
What do I need to change in Windows ME to use the router instead?
Presumably there are some settings needed to set up the network and change the internet connection to the router.Perhaps a wizard or two, but which ones and what to enter in them ?

I believe the router/modem is set up ok its just the windows bit I'm not sure about.

I should add that initially I'm only connecting one PC, if thats working ok then an Xbox goes on another port , and later perhaps a second PC. So for now its just one PC !

Any help appreciated

Roy

dfghjkl 20:44 01 Apr 04