help please

onmehed 18:25 17 Nov 03

A few weeks ok had a fatal error on xp, since then some progs wont run at all, have tried a new hdd, virus killer etc but nothing has helped, could it be my motherboards gone to pot, anyone got any solutuions im a bit new to this.

thanks

Diodorus Siculus 18:38 17 Nov 03

Have you tried a reinstall of XP? Or the programs that won't run?

Can you give more details about what your hardware / programs that don't work.

oldal 18:39 17 Nov 03

If XP and some programs are running OK , your MOBO is almost certainly OK. What errors are you getting when running the failing programs ?

Diodorus Siculus 18:42 17 Nov 03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

yes have reinstalled xp and all the programs, have even tired brand new hdd, still the same faults occur.

Forum Editor 19:19 17 Nov 03

was that problems in the registry were preventing the programs from running, but if you have reinstalled them and they still don't launch..............

Can you tell us exactly what the circumstances were when you had the original fatal error - had you just installed a new device, or some new software? Almost all blue screens in Windows XP are driver-related (before anyone picks me up on this, I did say 'almost all' - I know there are other causes), and you can often pinpoint exactly what action precipitates a blue screen - a print command for instance.

See if you can remember what caused yours.

I assume you've tried to use a system restore point to roll the machine back to before the crash?

onmehed 20:18 17 Nov 03

i havnt tried a system restore, dont know how too,