help new at this

Mosquitoes 17:35 08 Jul 04

Hi I'm trying to put a very simple web page on to my blueyonder site using Microsoft frontpage a build a simple page a couple of potographs, save, then press publish web the password and stuff is all there after a while it comes up with
web site published successfully ..
click here to view yuor published web site..
but when i go there it is the generic page site that blueyonder have put up .
What am I doing wrong this is my first attempt

Forum Editor 18:57 08 Jul 04

1. You haven't named your homepage correctly - it must have the filename: index.htm

2. The Blueyonder server space doesn't have the FrontPage extensions installed. This won't necessarily prevent you from publishing a FP site, but it will stop any of the special FP components from working.

Check the homepage filename first, and come back if that doesn't work.

Mosquitoes 19:52 08 Jul 04

I'm not to sure about this but I have a PWP site provided by blueyounder where do I name it index.htm and the lady who I talked to at Blueyounder said that they support frontpage,
I'm sorry but when it comes to computers I have'nt got a clue T'm trying to start with somthing basic and work from there.
thanks

Charence 20:57 08 Jul 04

try renaming it to "index.html"

Taran 22:48 08 Jul 04

Open up FrontPage.

Create a new website and choose the Empty Web Site option from the General site templates.

Create a new page, type something on the page like "TEST PAGE" then choose the File, Save As option and save the file as index.html

You will have to add the letter 'l' onto the .htm file entension, since FrontPage names all standard web files by default to .htm

Publish the page to your web space and see what happens when you try to view it in the browser.

Some ISPs insist on your home page being called index.html while others will allow index.htm or index.html