Help for Netgear DG834G & Wanadoo Broadband

KSG2006 16:19 11 Mar 06

Right, complete novice here so any help would be appreciated. If you could explain as simply as possible first steps I should take. The instructions say we need ADSL configeration information from ISP. What is this ? Any other help would be greatly appreciated.

ade.h 16:55 11 Mar 06

The router will require various bits of info and this will vary. Obviously, the minimum is your ADSL service's username and password, but you will also need to know the connection protocol at the very least. This is usally PPP over ATM (PPPoA). Others that you may or may not need include the recommended MTU figure (usually around 1400), the VCI figure and the VPI figure.

It is not essential for you to know the significance of thses figures and terms, and it would take too long to explain them here. They are technical terms and so are difficult to explain simply; but one call or email to Wanadoo should furnish you with all these if you do not already have a record of them from the time of your signup to its service.

I cannot comment on how many of these settings will be inputted manually into a Netgear and which ones will be auto-assigned. A Belkin, for example, simply requires the first three and the other three are optionally adjustable only if needed.

pifko 23:05 11 Mar 06

I have Wanadoo BB and that very router. It was easy as pie to set up...(why pie? meh)

All you need is your username and password that you use when connecting to the internet using your existing modem (I assume it's a speedtouch as that's what I was given)

I know the manual, like all may be a bit confusing to novices, but really, all you need to know is thse 2 details mentioned and the username and password to gain access to the router so you can configure it (these details are in the manual).